The Trade Fair Palace

25.11.2018

Maybe you know the period between autumn and winter when it doesn't snow yet and you can't walk through the beautifully snow-covered Prague and it's just uncomfortably cold and windy. That was exactly the idea I had last week when my family was coming and I wanted to take them somewhere. 

Even though I love walking, especially in the beautiful city like Prague, you can't possibly go for more than 2 hours, so you have to end up somewhere, and the best place to go is a cozy cafe in my opinion. I'm planning to prepare for you the autumn/winter list of my favorite Prague cafes that every tourist should know. On such cold days, it's a must-have.

Prague offers several such places. I am glad that I chose Trade Fair Palace, located in Holešovice, right at the stop with the same name.

One of the few places I visit regularly. They always have a wonderful exposition. When I was little, I enjoyed this place, thanks to my great art teacher at my elementary school, I was able to see the Slav Epic by Alfons Mucha.

Little about history...

The construction was set up for Prague fairs and was to serve ambitiously to expand trade and exports, to present the Czechoslovak industry and economy. In the 1920s, a competition was set. Several architects have been striving for such a great deal.

The building of the palace was entrusted to Oldřich Tyl and Josef Fuchs in 1924 and they offered to the capital city a functionalist building that was one of the most modern in Central Europe. The opening ceremony of the palace took place in September 1928.

I started the tour on the fourth floor and chronologically continued until the first. Their elevator is a great advantage. Permanent expositions are always on multiple floors. Other expositions are also located in the functionalist space of the so-called small courtyards and mainly around the building along long-distance halls. I really liked the arrangement of the exhibited works. Authors of the same works always side by side. This is the case with the already mentioned topic. I also appreciated the fact that there were quite a few other visitors.

I paid attention mainly to the third four, which included a large collection of works relating to the First Republic as part of the 100th- anniversary celebrations.

Thanks to the collections of the National Gallery, an exhibition with rich works of a 20-year period of independent Czechoslovakia arose between 1918-1938. It fascinates me how the Republic was artistically diverse at that time. The project represents major cultural centers and associations. First, it is the capital city, as an art center featuring the creation of domestic artists, as well as artists from all over Europe.

Finally, I can't forget the bonus for example for students for whom the permanent exhibition is free. It's definitely a family thing, little kids are probably not going to be that excited, but for the older ones, it might be attractive. The Trade Fair Palace has a beautiful and cozy café where you can talk about your impressions of the exhibition.



© 2018 Worlds Collide. Všechna práva vyhrazena.
Vytvořeno službou Webnode
Vytvořte si webové stránky zdarma! Tento web je vytvořený pomocí Webnode. Vytvořte si vlastní stránky zdarma ještě dnes! Vytvořit stránky